Phone Scoop

printed October 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www1.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3918

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Galaxy Note II (GSM)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  32  

Phone Scoop Review

3.5
Overall
2.5
Reception
4
Battery Life
3.5
Hardware Usability
3.5
Hardware Quality
4.5
Display
4
Interface Speed
2
Audio Volume
3
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.63
Overall
4.29
Reception
4.64
Battery Life
4.86
Hardware Usability
4.5
Hardware Quality
4.64
Display
4.79
Interface Speed
4.5
Audio Volume
4.57
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

A good phone, not a great phone

 

May 25, 2013 by saa001   updated Jun 1, 2013

Carrier: T-Mobile

I have had the Note 2 for about two weeks. Good phone but it has a couple of serious issues.
Pros: -Screen size is outstanding, allows my aging eyes to see screen better
-Great reception
-OK apps

Cons: -Poor volume control placement (I oftentimes hit the down key when turning off the scree with the button on the opposite side)
-Apps not quite as good as with Apple

I overall like the phone, I wanted to try something different (I love the iPhone but had grown complacent with it). Many times when I go to turn off the screen, I accidentally push the volume button down causing me to miss a couple of calls. Poor placement of the buttons. Most of the apps for my old iPhone have their counterpart on the Android but there are several missing ones that I would really like to have. Also the headphones that came with this are HORRIBLE. A lot of distortion. Plugged in my iPhone headset and the music was MUCH better.

I was drawn to this by the screen size. HUGE. Sometimes I want to check things out without having to put my reading glasses on. Making the text larger helps and with more screen real estate, I can read more on one screen without having to scroll constantly.

Reception is pretty good also.

If iPhone made one with a screen this size, I would gladly go back, until then I am on this phone for the foreseeable future.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Best phone I've ever had so far

 

May 22, 2013 by ppatrickstarr   updated May 22, 2013

Carrier: T-Mobile

Coming from an iPhone I was extremely happy on how much more I can do. Run two video apps at a time, very very quick processor and most amazing screen ever, nothing else compares side by side in HD new movie trailers etc.

Pros

Love the big screen, very accurate with texting and using the stylus. You can even use it too as if your writing a letter and the note will write it out as a text. pretty cool.

Quad Core Processor is awesomely fast! I don't know of any other cellphone that is currently on the market with a quad core chip or at least in the US to compete.

Reading anything in font is a lot easier on the eyes due to the big screen

Battery life is awesome! I use it all day for work/school and its not even in power saving mode

Galaxy S-Voice is very accurate along with google voice search

Camera is so good that I actually forget its only 8 mp and the features are very useful such as timer (which iPhones don't have) burst shots and more.

The speakers are also loud and clear compared to the iPhone.

Cons

Screen has a disadvantage of being so big, it's hard to text or do things privately. I'm always having someone over my shoulder or side looking at my phone. Also sometimes when talking on the phone, my face will somehow navigate its way to opening random apps and because the screen is so sensitive, it closes or does things without my intending to do so even when I'm just holding it.

Doesn't have group messaging like the iPhone iMessage or Blackberry BBM, I have to actually reply to each and every single person. Although I was told they have an app for it.

Overall I love the phone more than any of my previous phones. Treo, Sony, Samsung, Motorola etc being that used to work for t-mobile, I recommend trying this phone out cause who knows you might just actually get it! :)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Hey iPhone users, eat your hearts out!!!

 

Nov 14, 2012 by landotheripper

By far the best phone I've ever had.

Pros:
-Incredible and HUGE 5.5" screen
-Insanely fast 1.6 QUAD-CORE processor
-Awesome 2GB RAM
-Very fast HSPA+ (T-Mobile 4G)
-Android 4.1 Jelly Bean with Project Butter makes everything "buttery" smooth
-Incredibly lightweight for its tremendous size
-S-Pen works like an absolute dream
-TONS of ways to customize
-Air-View previews are extremely helpful and total eye candy

Cons:
-Difficult to operate with one hand but not impossible
-No "Multi-view" multitasking out of the box but coming in a later OTA

This phone is an absolute beast, in size and in performance. Opening, closing and switching applications is absolutely SEAMLESS thanks to its Quad-Core processor and the very generous 2GBs of RAM. The screen does cut down on PPI density from phones like the Galaxy S3 but its NOT noticible. I'm very confident in saying that Samsung has not only set the bar very HIGH but that they have totally reinvented the smartphone.

5/5 *NO QUESTION ABOUT IT*

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


And we have a winner!!!

 

Nov 4, 2012 by psykirkland

Wow! Where do I start.... Ok. The Galaxy Note 2 is absolutely hands down one of the best phone/tablet out! I've never had a phone that was this much fun and this well built! Lets give you some pros/cons:

Pros:
4.1 Jelly Bean is smooth and fast!
5.5 inch SuperAmoled HD is fantastic
Slimmer design is more hand friendly
Quad core Xynos is a demon!
2GB ram. No lag or hiccups there.
S pen is awesome!
New body is gorgeous!
Loud speaker is incredible!
Battery life by far is the best!
Camera is very nice and takes gorgeous photos and very fast.
Internet is blazing!
Customization is endless!

Cons:
Not a lot of cases out right now.
Can be too big for those with small hands.

Bottom line:
The Galaxy Note 2 is an absolute 10 and if youre thinking of picking one up then hurry! I love it and very pleased with overall performance!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


5 out of 5... 10 out of 10.. A++ Need I say more?

 

Nov 16, 2012 by rdodd015

Nay, I don't need to say more but I will. The first words out of my mouth were "Holy Cow!" The next words were "Wow... amazing!" I didn't think that I would be that impressed coming from the original Samsung Galaxy Note, but I was. This device is earth shattering. Blazing fast internet speeds, smooth, super snappy application transitions and brain busting display colors make this phone a 5 out of 5, or a 10 out of 10. Or an A++. What ever your rating scale may be... this phone sits at the top.

I won't give you all the tech specs... those are already listed by other users and readily available publicly. I will give you an honest non-biased review.

OMG this phone is awesome. The white version has a sleek, elegant look. The blue has the same look but with a masculine metal look, and blue color give it a manly. Either one has incredible aesthetic appeal that I often find myself just looking at it sitting on the desk.

The display colors are so crisp, and clear that when looking at a photo it almost appears that you are looking thru the picture.. or even feels like you could actually be in it.

Jelly Bean is fast, reliable and loaded with such a huge host of features it would take you a few months to know the full capabilities of the phone and operating system.

I like virtual buttons better than mechanical buttons, but this phone has both, and the mechanical button really isn't a CON, tho the virtual buttons more of a personal preference.

The phone does fit in my front pants pocket, no problem. I don't wear overly baggy pants, or overly tight pants, just regular pants/jeans, and it fits.

This phone is light years in technology ahead of the apple iphone. I feel bad that apple users are throwing their money away on technology that is already old. Dear apple users, I have some old computers that I'll sell you for new computer prices. And I'll even add all the hype to convince you that you're buying something special, even tho you are not.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The best phone I've ever had

 

Nov 22, 2012 by crispeto

Not only is this the best phone I've ever had, it's possibly the best electronic device of any kind I've ever had. It's lightweight, huge screen, extremely colorful display, super fast processor, takes great pictures including panoramic, battery life is great and it feels solid. The s-pen is great for taking notes, previewing emails, movies, pictures, and other media. I had an iphone before this and almost bought the iphone 5 and boy am I glad I didn't. There's nothing wrong with the iphone but I like this phone much better. It also takes a micro sd card which is great for storing pics, videos, and files. My only real con is that it's got a slippery back casing so I can't wait for my ordered case to get here. Seriously, there's not another phone like it and if you like the size - it's the perfect phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Samsung reinvents the wheel

 

Nov 13, 2012 by Praxis Tech

Absolutely the best phone I have EVER had. I owned 5 iphones, two HTC, two Nokia and one other Samsung note. This phone is amazing, it is so good, I have authorized my company to issue them to our road crews. Fast, beautiful, extremely vibrant display. All the speed and options you could imagine! I will never return to Apple, this phone is far more powerful and flexible!! Thanks Samsung -

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

great phone

 

Feb 27, 2014 by phonefreak87

Carrier: AT&T

pros: great sped from the proccessor
storage
camera
call quality

cons just one will fry out samsungs 64gb class 10 micro sd for some reason mine fried out after my phone died and i turned back on the phone after charging

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Galaxy Note 2 AT&T Awesome Phone

 

Jul 18, 2013 by Matt Smith

Carrier: AT&T

Carrier: AT&T

I have had the Note 2 for about 4 Months. Awesome phone. Screen size is outstanding, allows my aging eyes to see screen better , Great reception , Great Apps. Way better then iphone i have owned iphones in past but i will never go back. I overall love the phone, I wanted to try something different i used to like the iPhone until i looked into samsung . I was drawn to this by the screen size. HUGE. Sometimes I want to check things out without having to put my reading glasses on. Making the text larger helps and with more screen real estate, I can read more on one screen without having to scroll constantly.
Reception is also great 4gLte Almost Everywhere no static in phone calls and overall great phone. I will stay with this phone for awhile until the note 3 comes out this is a really great and awesome phone for the price it can do anything you would ever want in a phone the camera takes great pictures and awesome 1080p videos i use the camera feature all the time to upload videos straigt to youtube after i record them. Once you switch to this phone you wont want any other phone period and once you get used to the screen size you wont want any other phone. Also the battery life is really great i search the web all day with no problem and im always playing games it last along time more then any other phone i have ever had.

Thanks for reading my review

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great Phone For The Right Person

 

Jun 17, 2013 by amdmanken

Carrier: AT&T

I just upgraded my phone to the Galaxy S4 but I really liked the Note II. The battery lasts me all day of moderate to heavy use, and does not go into the Yellow or Red. I havn't found much use for the pen feature, I am sure there are some that love this feature.

Pros: Long Battery Life
Big display
Great sound quality for calls and music
Good camera

Cons:Display is only 720P and not 1080P if
your watching movies.
Multi-screen mode does not work like the ads
show.

Over all this is a great phone. I did have issue's with one handed operation and I have large hands, and finding case's can be a challange. Looking forward to the Galaxy Note III.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1